The Woes of First Impressions

I hate introductions. Dang it! That’s a bad way to start off. I should never say “hate.”

Let’s start over. I don’t like introductions. I’m really breaking all the rules with this intro. I’m using “I” and I’m using  contractions…? My English teachers would be so diaappointed.

I just don’t like introductions. In an introduction you have grab the reader’s attention, “hook them,” and explain what is going to happen, without giving away everything, about what you will write. I know some teachers don’t read an entire essay because they can tell from the introduction whether the rest is good or not.

That’s a lot of pressure.

I feel like my first blog post is like the introduction to an essay. I have to write a good first post so you’ll keep reading. 🙂

I don’t like introductions because you have to start with nothing, with a blank page staring at you, penetrating your soul (well, maybe not that serious) and write something.

You have to write your first line, break the ice. All your ideas that used to make sense in your head now seem stupid when written upon the blank page. What makes a great line? I like the classics, “it was the best of times, it was the worst of times.” Or, “the clock struck thirteen.” Or, “it’s dangerous oh there, take this!”

What do I talk about? Whatever I write is a first impression and while we say, “never judge a book by its cover,” we also say, “you never get a second chance at a first impression.” We still judge based upon first impressions. We judge people, restaurants, companies, books, movies and so much more on first impressions.

What first impression am I giving with all this rambling??!!

You know, I don’t care! I’ve been so worried about my blog posts being perfect that I didn’t write. They don’t have to be perfect, there is no such thing as perfect.

Leave a Reply

